Ezekiel 13:18 Isn’t about the “Fly Away” Doctrine

flyaway

“…and say, Thus says the Lord GOD: Woe to the women who sew magic bands upon all wrists, and make veils for the heads of persons of every stature, in the hunt for souls! Will you hunt down souls belonging to my people and keep your own souls alive?” – Ezekiel 13:18

When I first started studying with the Shepherd’s Chapel back in 1994 one of the first few tapes I ordered was a two tape series concerning the pre-tribulation rapture. I was blown away by Murray’s teaching. He unleashed a panoply of arguments and scripture against this lie the likes of which I had never seen.

To this day I don’t believe in a pre-tribulation rapture thanks in no small part to Arnold Murray. But that is where my praise and adulation ceases.

As I stated before there are a multitude of good Christian teachers who correctly expose the lies of dispensationalism and the pre-tribulation rapture…

Without all the garbage religion that Chapel dishes up…

Invariably on every broadcast it is simply a matter of time before the doctor launches into his polemic. You’ll hear him talk about how Ezekiel predicted the “Fly Away” doctrine. This can be found in Ezekiel 13, but as I will show you the passage he references has absolutely NOTHING to do with the rapture.

Ezekiel 13:17 – “Likewise, thou son of man, set thy face against the daughters of thy people, which prophesy out of their own heart; and prophesy thou against them…”

Okay, the context is 5th century B.C. – the woman of Israel at that time were involved in false religion and lying to the people telling them that judgment would not come. God was commanding Ezekiel to pronounce judgment against THEM. Not Margaret McDonald, NOT Gloria Copeland, Not Jan Crouch or any of the other biblical podunks on TBN for fooling people with the pretribulation rapture.

(NLT) Ezekiel 13:18 – “This is what the Sovereign LORD says: I am against all your magic charms, which you use to ensnare my people like birds. I will tear them from your arms, setting my people free like birds set free from a cage.

Here’s the KJV and notice how Murray distorts the text to have it mean something about God’s judgment on the women who teach the pre-tribulation rapture…

Ezekiel 13:18 – “Wherefore thus saith the Lord GOD; Behold, I am against your pillows, wherewith ye there hunt the souls to make them fly, and I will tear them from your arms, and will let the souls go, even the souls that ye hunt to make them fly.”

This passage is about God setting his people free from these liars like someone who frees birds from a cage. Murray warps and distorts this passage to mean something completely unrelated… why would he do that? It’s about power and selfish ambition. Murray has no concern for the truth – only to use and distort the bible to accomplish his own selfish ends.

He exposes the pre-tribulation rapture AS A MEANS OF CONVERTING PEOPLE TO HIS CULT. Therefore he has no compunction about warping this passage if it supports his agenda.

Author: Timothy Campbell

Independent researcher exposing Joel's Army / Latter-Rain Movement, Christian evangelist and helping to expose the plot of the ages - the church will be here during the great tribulation (or Golden Age of Gaia) and will have resist the beast and his mark...

49 thoughts on “Ezekiel 13:18 Isn’t about the “Fly Away” Doctrine”

  1. Thank God for people like Arnold Murray ! You should thank our Father he is a forgiving God. Please do not talk falsely about people YOU will be held accountable by our father in Heaven. Wendy

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hmm… be specific about how I spoke falsely? You are caught up in the sway of false religion – thank God that he is forgiving. I pray that you will begin to see the light concerning this false teacher.

      Like

      1. Armold Murray was a very well studied Greek and Hebrew scholar that made it his duty to properly discern through the Lords direction the truest possible translation from these manuscripts original intended meaning by their language, which gives you a largely different meaning on a lot of very important scriptures in the bible we know today. These words from the English language that make up the bible we read cannot perfectly depict the true meaning of many of the verses with much depth

        Let them see and let them hear

        Liked by 2 people

  2. This is definitely a false doctrine. We will not fly away. Don’t know what your beef with Shepherds Chapel is but you twist his words. No one “joins” his group. They are good teachers of the Word of God. Most of what you say against them can be proven false just by listening on a daily basis to them. You need to reread your Bible and “rightly divide the Word of truth”. Yes, there are some things we question, but on the whole Shepherds Chapel stays true to Biblical doctrine.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve listened to him for 20 years. Murray uses this text in Ezekiel to disprove the pre-tribulation rapture doctrine and he is being very dishonest because this text has NOTHING to do with the rapture. NOTHING. You have aligned yourself with his false teachings and this blog is to help people bust loose from false religion.

    Like

    1. I’ve listened to him for over twenty years and believe me, the Shepherds Chapel is NOT a cult. Look to Jim Jones and David Koresh and the RCC and Jehovah’s Witness if you want to expose a cult. Murray has a take it or leave it attitude. You left it. Are other cults so easy to leave? I think not.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They’re not so easy to leave, you’re obviously still under his spell. Murray most definitely believed what he taught was true, and that if you disagreed you were obviously a fool. Take it or leave it was merely window dressing for getting people to take the bait…

        Like

      2. You have studied with Pastor Murray? Well I have studied almost all religious beliefs for over 60 years. It would seem to me that you could express your beliefs with out trashing any one. Pastor always said that he was not here to judge other people, he said, “Let GOD do the judging.” Who are you to speak ill of this man, especially after he has passed. You sound like a bitter little man who is trying to make a stand on top of someone else. If you have something to say, say it respectfully,then let others judge you on your merit. Grow up or shut up,timmy. I will take my spiritual body to Heaven. And 1 more thing, why is it your goal to take down the Pastor? Did he see you for the infant you are? Give this man respect at least for teaching people HOW to study the word. Believe me,keep this up& you will cross 1 of our paths 1 day & you will learn that WE ARE CAN DO TYPE PEOPLE. Good luck little man. Don’t go away mad-just go away-back to your moms basement!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with you, Timothy! My mother listens to Shepards Chapel. I read my bible and ask the Holy Spirit for discernment. Sometimes I am shocked at what my mother ‘learns’ from this program! She does admit that she doesn’t agree with everything he is saying….however I have heard enough about some of the things he teaches to know that I will just stick with my bible and the Holy Spirit helping me to understand God’s Word! Thank you for warning people.

    Like

      1. One major concept many overlook is the Separation of the Spiritual and the Physical.
        We are but physical shells occupied by that spark of the Lord with heavy influence from Satan if we let our guards down and do not rely on Jesus, His Father and The Holy Spirit for rescue and protection.
        Any professed rapture theory is being falsly promoted as if physical bodies will be ascending upward into the promise land when indeed all that departs our body at death would be the Spirit returning from which it came.
        I’m 72 years old and have “church shopped” most of my life, been in numerous life and death situations and have been given my own visions and personal revelations over the years to reinforce my faith and beliefs, Arnold Murry and the Shepherds Chapel has been the closest to interpreting the words found in the Bible for me to date,
        It definately is not a cult as others have pointed out, it is unfortunate you have such a problem with the methods and teachings presented, they have helped tens of thousands of people understanding.
        As He has said, read it for yourself if you disagree and present whys, whats and hows that have affected you to take such as stand.
        I have nothing but good to say of this Church and Teachings..
        Kimlnu from Alger Wa.

        Like

  5. I appreciate the work you’re doing here Tim. I’ve had many discussions across youtube on these matters, and keep getting similar responses. I wonder if you might help me with something. I often get this nonsense about Ezk 13:20 saying “I’m against those that teach my people to fly to save their souls.” as if this were some sort of direct quote. I’ve checked numerous translations and even the 1611 and can’t find it. Why is it continually used?

    Like

    1. It’s the typical way he tortures and distorts the text to get it to say what he needs. He makes this passage a specific prophetic condemnation by Ezekiel against the pre-trib rapture to give weight to his arguments.

      Like

  6. You have studied with Pastor Murray? Well I have studied almost all religious beliefs for over 60 years. It would seem to me that you could express your beliefs with out trashing any one. Pastor always said that he was not here to judge other people, he said, “Let GOD do the judging.” Who are you to speak ill of this man, especially after he has passed. You sound like a bitter little man who is trying to make a stand on top of someone else. If you have something to say, say it respectfully,then let others judge you on your merit. Grow up or shut up,timmy. I will take my spiritual body to Heaven. And 1 more thing, why is it your goal to take down the Pastor? Did he see you for the infant you are? Give this man respect at least for teaching people HOW to study the word. Believe me,keep this up& you will cross 1 of our paths 1 day & you will learn that WE ARE CAN DO TYPE PEOPLE. Good luck little man. Don’t go away mad-just go away-back to your moms basement!!

    Like

    1. Arnold Murray was an authority unto himself. Where was a Nathan to say you are the man? Where was a Paul to say that he was wrong? Where was the gathering council to determine if he was teaching rightly? Paul had Barnabas to argue his credentials and character before the apostles and disciples. Solomon the wisest of men had no prophet and he and his house fell into error and idolatry. No man is above critique or challenge.

      Like

  7. The Ezekiel passage clearly has nothing to do with Rapture theology, but the term “pre-trib” is misleading for another reason. The Bible does not teach a “7 year tribulation,” thus any timeline teaching based on a 7 year tribulation is without scriptural support. That does not mean, however, that Jesus did not teach early redemption for some and late redemption for others, as he clearly does in the parable of the vineyard workers in Matthew 20:1-16, and in other parables. According to Jesus, there will be only a few who satisfy his words in Luke 21:36 and pass into the Marriage, while others will wait for him to return FROM the wedding, as he says in Luke 12:36. You can read more about my ministry teaching as it relates to the “paralambano” of early redemption taught by Jesus and the “harpazo” of final-trumpet redemption taught by the Apostle Paul at my website and in my free web book, The Measure of Days. http://www.the-measure-of-days.com

    Like

  8. I think and know Arnold Murray is not a wise teacher. My mother and Grandmother watch and listen to him. I agree with Timothy. That the scriptures in Ezekiel have nothing to do with the rapture, at anytime. He claims to study the Bible chapter by chapter, verse by verse. If he did he would not come up with the stuff he does. One we did not exist before the creation of the world. Denying the trinity as God in three persons is false (He is God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit). And He(God) didn’t make the races separate. Adam and Eve were the first two humans made. And when Christ rules during the millennium, it will be a physical reign. Not to mention a few things. The fly away doctrine he preaches is poop.

    Like

    1. The Bible clearly states that he knew us before the foundation of the earth. OUR Father God has A Name and Jesus has a name And Jesus said I will leave with you a comforter. Jesus said that no one knows the time or the Hour ONLY Our Father in Heaven. So they are Not all the same. He sits on the Right Side of Our Father. Many will be deceived. Broad is the path to Satan. Narrow is the way to Christ. No one has got it all right but at least I knew what is right and what is wrong through the Holy Spirit. Judge not lest you be Judged.

      Like

      1. Stacy, according to you we are not allowed to exercise spiritual discernment and call someone out for teaching falsely. Paul called out false teachers and heretics by name, and that is what this blog focuses on, calling out the Chapel and exposing their deceptions.

        Like

  9. Sir, claiming Arnold Murray is a false teacher because you disagree with an interpretation he has on scripture is a very suspicious to me. I lean toward agreeing with pastor Murray and have never found rapture teachings predating the 1800s. Furthermore, even presuming you are correct about the scripture, I have personally observed that pastor Murray is correct in how belief in a pre-tribulation rapture is causing a number of Christians to be blinded. They say that they do not follow politics or look for the signs because “I won’t be here.” They use that as an excuse to disengage. I find no value to teaching rapture doctrine but much damage done by it. And even among people that believe that theory, there is disagreement about whether it is a pre-trib, post trib, or happening throughout tribulation. I have listened to pastor Murray for years, and I think you can feel good about his efforts and his sermons based on the fruits of his tree. I also do not feel like a man of God who is living right would attack him the way that you and others have. I think the Christian approach would be to recognize that his message is primarily about leading people to Jesus and to call him a false teacher is damaging to he faith as a whole. If you happen to be wrong about your take on the rapture, would this make you a “false teacher”.

    Like

    1. I don’t find Murray to be very evangelical at all – in fact if you go back and look at what he has to say about election and justification you will be hard pressed to believe he was even saved. I agree, no pre-tribulation rapture, but so what?

      Like

    2. you tell him brother and they want to believe in that rapture let them they will see an hear the truth at the end of this age

      Like

  10. He goes on, and on, and on, and on about the pre-tribulation rapture and Margaret McDonald as though it is the only thing in the bible – he teaches more false prophecy than any southern Baptist dispensationalist ever dreamed of…

    Like

  11. yes why are you bad mouthing the shepherds chapel ? what he teaches is the truth an if you can not handle the truth then you need to bury your head in the sand

    Like

    1. Tim, I have been reading you’re comments, about you’re calling Shepherd’s Chapel out on false doctrine. There is a very fine line between calling out (exposing) and judging. Allow the readers to study in depth for themselves relying on the Spirit of the Living God for the meaning of scriptures. Further more, if you are truly a man of God, which only He knows, just exercise you’re time by praying for these readers and Shepherd’s Chapel or any other ministries, that God will bring forth the truth in their hearts. That applies as well as mormans, J.W., or any other faiths. Don’t forget that All humans, God created and Loves them, regardless of what they believe or teach. If you believe that Shepherd’s Chapel is a false church and Arnold and Dennis Murray are false teachers pray for them and others as well, in stead of judging or may I say exposing, as would call it. If he is teaching falsely, God will deal with all those who teaches falsely, that’s HIS call, not ours,…our responsibility is to love and pray for all. Yes, I agree with one of the readers. The man is gone home to be with the Father, leave him be, and focus on where you are at with God. Stephen

      Like

      1. I will call a spade a spade. If I have spoken harshly I can always correct that. I pray for the readers all the time. You say, “If he is teaching falsely, God will deal with all those who teaches falsely, that’s HIS call, our responsibility is to love and pray for all.” I believe it is our responsibility to do whatever we can to spring them loose from the jaws of deception and thereby share the gospel and give our testimony of deliverance. My “being judgmental” is a minor issue. The major issues are what I have laid out. In the future I will maybe try to change the tenor but the facts remain the same… this is a destructive cult.

        Like

  12. Hey Timothy I read the scripture and prayed the Lord would show me the meaning… 1 the entire chapter is condemning and exposing false prophets who say they have had a divine vision but are liars and the prophetess or women who by false prophecy try to hunt souls to MAKe THEM FLY. It does not say The Lord will let them fly it says the prophetess who does it for handfuls of barley and bread ( for money or fleshly materials) weave these pillows to hunt and capture souls to make them fly. Nothing about birds at all. It says the Lord will free the souls from this false doctrine not make them fly . This makes Arnold Murray’s teaching of this scripture correct cause it is the words of the Lord in plain English. 2. Dr Murray has dedicated hid life to learning the scriptures and helping to explain them to people and to glorify our Creator and you said he teaches against the rapture over and over because this is the deception that will lead so many souls on the wrong path so it is crucial that’s why He teaches it many times incase bed viewers missed it. Dr. Murray has helped me answer questions that has been hidden by the false prophets and deceptions of the Deceiver and I am grateful for him.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Please someone help me. I am very distraught about this. My brother in law believes all of Murray’s teaching and we were always close until recently. It actually started with a disagreement over this Rapture doctrine. He acts as if he hates me we were always close and got along very well until recently. Where does it say in the Bible that there is no physical Resurrection and those that believe in the Rapture will be raised by the Antichrist? What verse says I whore after the Antichrist if I believe in the Rapture? Why am I stupid for thinking Jesus is coming again and the dead will be raised? I am crying almost daily about this situation. Why is my sweet brother in law whom I’ve known most all my life suddenly being cruel to me? He and my sister in-law are so different it is as if they despise me.

    Like

edify

