Were the Elect Justified in the World that Was?

the Chapel is a christian identity cult
the Elect justified during the first earth age?

(Rom 8:29) For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.
(Rom 8:30) Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.

Shepherd’s Chapel betrays itself by how it interprets this scripture on the doctrine of election…

One of the hallmarks of false teachers is their insistence that salvation is the result of man’s righteousness or his good works. It is no different with Shepherd’s Chapel. They actually take this heresy to new heights. Let’s look at this verse from Ephesians:

(Eph 1:4) According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love:

According to the Chapel, “foundation” means “overthrow” and not an actual “founding” – God chose the elect before the Katabole, or the destruction of the first earth age. Which age was destroyed because of the “rebellion”. Forget the fact that Paul is actually talking to the elect of the Ephesian church…

Murray teaches that the “elect” are a small group of loyal believers who fought alongside God in the first earth age at the rebellion of Satan. As a result God “justified” and “glorified” them and they thereby earned the right to be “the elect”. He stresses that “justified” and “glorified” are in the past tense to prove his point.

The famous verse, “many are called but few are chosen…” now begins to take on new meaning…

You see, there are 7000 “very elect” who form the order of Zadok and 144000 regular “elect” from the 12 tribes of Israel. But does the bible really teach this?

As with so many other scriptures Murray completely butchers the doctrine of election. According to Murray, the vast majority of saints who are redeemed ARE NOT ELECT AT ALL! But where does the bible teach anyone who has been justified that is not elect? IT DOESN’T!

First off, there is only one people of God, “one elect”, the CHURCH and they are elect according to God’s grace, not as a result of their efforts in the first earth age.

There is no “very elect” Zadok priesthood. Here’s one of the passages he uses to support this insane fantasy…

(Mat 24:24) For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.

I think someone is “very” mentally challenged if they can wrest this scripture to support two groups of elect, the regular and an elite group. “Very” isn’t used in this sense at all in this text! Doesn’t matter to Murray though, he just keeps on plowing…

The Greek word for “very” is the conjunction “KAI”. Look at the way Jesus uses KAI in this passage…

(Mat 10:30) But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.

Jesus does not have in mind some separate group of “elite” hairs growing on top of your head… or maybe he does? It is the same sense that Matthew 24:24 uses “very”. But Murray needs “very” to refer to some elite group of 7000. They are VERY ELECT, not just elect.

Now we can begin to better understand WHY Murray took such an interest in original languages – not to get at the truth but to better wrest the text to mean what he needs in order to fashion his own religion.

Here’s what you need to know, and this blog is designed help you get free from this cult and begin to put your trust in Jesus Christ and not some man and his fantastical system of falsehood…

1.) There was no first earth age that God destroyed as a result of Satan’s rebellion. The “elect” of Murray were not “justified” in the first earth age as a result of their righteous performance. If you believe that I have a good feeling you may be on the way to perdition.

2.) The “elect” are one people of God from the beginning of time to our present day. There are a vast multitude of them. In the new testament they are called the church. They are elect according to God’s grace through faith in Christ, not of works.

I hope if you are caught up in this that God will grant you repentance and understanding of the truth – if you know someone that is snared by this teaching please direct them to this blog…

 

22 thoughts on “Were the Elect Justified in the World that Was?

  1. It sounds like you dislike pastor Murray for the same reason they hated Jesus for telling the truth. You better watch out judging.

    Like

  2. If you don’t agree with Murray sobeit but these people who try to trash anything they don’t agree with need to look within themselves. If you think a brother is in error you try to reason with that person – you don’t write a condemnation, place it on the web and then not be man or woman enough to even say who you are!

    Like

    • I make it no secret who I am Van J. I was a former Murray disciple and Jesus Christ opened my eyes to the deception I was caught up in. Basically, you are trying to convince me to not warn others and give my testimony. Sorry Van J. I will continue to reach as many people through this blog as God will send.

      Like

  3. If I TRUST YOUR PRIVATE ‘BIBLICAL’ INTERPRETATION, then I TRULY AM CURSED (Jeremiah 17:5). JEREMIAH 4:23-28 = GENESIS 1:2, destruction of the 1st age at Satan’s rebellion…the 2 verses where the EARTH is “WITHOUT FORM AND VOID”. In Genesis 1:28, the LORD GOD says “REPLENISH THE EARTH”, just like AFTER NOAH’S FLOOD (Genesis 9:1). Imagine that!

    Like

  4. No one gets out of anything unless they are repented. You have to be shown how to repent by the Holy Spirit and you cannot get it without praying the right way through the ancient Hebrew art of meditation/prayer. I don’t see many so called Christians doing it and very few are actually traveling the path. Oh they say the words real well , but they aren’t going anywhere. The journey begins with the first step.

    Like

  5. I fear for my dad and aunt who seem to have been thoroughly deceived by Arnold Murray and the delusions of this Shepherd’s Cult…until now I’ve only had my prayers to beg God to reveal truth to them. I’m grateful for this blog and it’s content.

    Like

    • Who got the other one into it? You may have an easier time with them. Study up. Don’t get into any religious confrontations. Chapel students can become quite belligerent when you begin to challenge their interpretation (which is reality to them).

      Like

    • love you sweet but you don’t have to worry about me. Follow NO MAN. Did that all my life in churches. You can be taken from the field by satan when he arrives but I’ll stay working in the field. I wouldn’t trust wording in today’s Bibles for anything. Trust in the Lord and ask for guidance and wisdom.

      Like

    • Apparently you are Kandi’s Aunt, thanks for visiting the article.

      You’re referring to the Shepherd’s Chapel? It wouldn’t surprise me (but I’m almost certain there are larger cults). I don’t think the size of a following is a good indication of the truthfulness of a ministry. It’s easy to say you follow NO MAN – but if your interpretation of the bible is identical to the person you claim you are not following I will have a hard time believing you.

      Like

      • What does His word mean? You say you follow NO MAN. This sounds nice, but what does His Word mean? Did the Holy Spirit teach you or did you get your understanding from the Chapel?

        God in teaching me the scripture has led me to reject the vast majority of what Murray taught, is there not a problem here? Has the Holy Spirit never alarmed your conscience about what is being taught about God’s Word by this ministry? I pray that He will.

        If you believed His word you would be horrified of people being led astray by false religion… are you? If you were once caught up in it and Jesus Christ delivered you from it you would shout it from the housetop.

        And that’s what this blog is, it is a testimony of how Jesus Christ delivered me from the Shepherd’s Chapel cult and I get very specific. That way others can be warned and turn away from deception.

        Like

  6. I have been watching Pastor Murray since 1995 and I know with all my heart God led me to him on Satellite after I lost my precious 16 month old granddaughter. Now no man is perfect only Jesus/God. I have remember him in his younger years and he has changed in some of his ways in teaching. He doesn’t judge and I have made up my own mind to what he is trying to tell us. He said the Bible is pregnant as it grows with new things and even Pastor Murray said he is still learning and it isn’t a cult as he made me study the Bible and to prove him wrong. I couldn’t with most but I am still learning and only God knows everything. Pastor Murray isn’t perfect but he is telling me and the rest the truth as no Rapture and he has a satellite that covers the world–China-Japan ETC: All I know he wasn’t in his latters years like he was when I started in 1995. So nick pick all you want. It isn’t a cult (WHERE DO YOU GET THAT) I can sit down and nick pick lots of preachers on TV. It is obvious you are not one of God’s good buddy.

    Like

    • I have been redeemed by the blood of Jesus Christ, he calls me his friend in scripture. I don’t believe in the pre-tribulation rapture; neither do many Christians who aren’t affiliated with Murray. The purpose of this blog is to give a testimony of what Jesus delivered me from – and to get YOU thinking about some of the things Murray teaches.

      Like

      • Timothy thank you for your blog, I have a friend who is caught up in these heretical teachings, what is interesting is all the followers have the same response,I find it very sad she is caught up in it. I have warned her and she has gotten mad. I have studied many false religions, I have turned her over to the Lord . I can no longer try to convince her. He is good at twisting scripture..I hope and pray more will get out. God Bless

        Like

  7. Thanks for your encouragement – the activity for it is picking up and God has graced me with some ideas to get through to these people. A friend and former Chapel student will join me tomorrow on my radioblog and we will be discussing these things. I will put a link up for you soon. Thanks for commenting. It helps people who frequent this blog that all is not well and good with this ministry.

    Like

  8. Anybody that doesn’t believe there are three earth ages, has not studied the King James bible or the manuscripts very good. when do they think the prehistoric animals were. How did the remains of African animals get in Nebraska. You are stupid if you don’t think there was not an age before the one we are living in now!

    Like

edify

